Requirements to purchase a marriage license:
Both applicants need to apply in person and show proof of identity and age
Acceptable Forms of ID
The application includes your social security number city, county, state of birth, and current address
Please fill out this Marriage License Application (click here for form) before coming to your appointment.
Our fee as of January 1, 2014 will be $71.00 for a marriage license.
Acceptable forms of payment are cash, debit/credit, personal check, cashier's check or money order.
Code Chapter 2, Subchapter A. 2.006 Absent Applicant:
If an applicant is unable to appear in person before the County Clerk to apply for a marriage license, any adult person or the other applicant may apply on behalf of the absent applicant. The person applying on behalf of an absent applicant shall provide to the clerk:
The Affidavit of the Absent Applicant (click here for form) as provided by this subchapter;
proof of the identity and age of the absent applicant as provided by this subchapter;
If divorced you must wait 30 days after the divorce is final before you may apply for a license.
There is a 72 hour waiting period before you can use the license unless you are on active duty in the armed forces or have completed the Twogether in Texas Healthy Marriage initiative by the Texas Health and Human Services Commission.
A Marriage license is valid for 90 days.
TWOGETHER IN TEXAS:
The new law, passed as House Bill 2685 during the 2007 legislative session, increases the fee for a marriage license from $30 to $60.00. It also allows couples who complete an eight-hour premarital education course to waive paying the $60 of their marriage license fee, and they will not have to wait 72 hours to get married. Couples who complete a course will receive a certificate that is good for one year. The information can be found in the Texas Administrative Code 2.204 effective September 1. 2008.
If you want more information from the TEXAS FAMILY CODE on marriage licenses you may access that web site and click on “The Marriage Relationship Chapter 2”. This may answer any questions in more detail about the requirements for the marriage license.
Premarital Education Course:
Twogether in Texas
Twogether in Houston
Our office accepts cash, debit/credit, personal check, money order and cashier's checks.
Waller County Clerk
836 Austin St., Suite 217
Hempstead, Texas 77445
Copyright © Waller County Texas 2017. All rights reserved.
powered by ezTaskTitanium TM