Waller County Tax Office
You must have an original written prescription indicating the nature of the disability as being mobility or non-mobility, temporary or permanent from a Texas licensed physician, or you can request Form VTR-214 from the Texas Department of Transportation.
Complete and sign the top portion of this form including the TX driver's license number or TX ID Card number of the disabled person. If the disabled person does not have one, then the TX driver's license number of the person doing most of the transporting is acceptable.
The back portion of Form VTR-214 must be filled out, signed by a TX licensed physician and notarized. Take this or mail this with the fee to one of our tax office locations. You may get 1 placard and 1 set of plates, or 2 placards and no plates. Placards are $5.00 for temp and no cost for permanent; plates are $1.00 each.
Contact our office if you need additional assistance.
Application (Form 52A) for Farm Trailer / Semitrailer, Farm Truck, or Farm Truck Tractor License Plates on the State DMV web site.
New personalized plates
Personalized plates are handled directly through the state. Please go to the Texas Department of Transportation Website for details.
Transfer personalized plates to a new vehicle
You must register at one of our tax office locations for this exchange. Bring your registration receipt or Vehicle Identification Number (VIN) of the vehicle for which you want the plates. If you need more information contact us at (979) 826-7620.
If you have a renewal notice for the current, or the next two months, you can register online via Motor Vehicle Registration Renewal. You may also visit one of our tax office locations (listed to the right of this page). You can mail your renewal notice, proof of insurance and check to our main office.
Waller County Tax Office
730 9th St.
Hempstead, TX 77445
If you do not have a renewal notice, you can register at any of our tax office locations or by mail with your license plate number, insurance and check. See fees below to obtain the correct registration fee amount.
First of all, welcome to Waller County! Moving from another county and registering your vehicle is easy.
You may stop in at one of our tax office locations, register online, contact us at email@example.com or call us at (979) 826-7620.
You will need the following to title and register your vehicle here in Texas:
1. Out of State title
2. Title Application (130U)
3. Texas Inspection
4. Weight ticket if the weight is not on the the title and if it is a truck or utility vehicle
5. Proof Of Insurance
If you do not have the title you need the following:
1. Out of State registration
2. Title application (130U)
4. Weight ticket if the weight is not on the title and if it is a truck or utility vehicle
5. Lienholders name, address & the date of the lien
6. Proof of insurance
For any questions please
Frequently asked questions:
WHAT IS THE STATE PENALTY FOR LATE VEHICLE REGISTRATION?
State law stipulates that if you received a citation for expired registration, there is a 20% penalty added to your registration fee.
WHAT DO I DO WITH THE RENEWAL NOTICE I RECEIVED FOR A VEHICLE THAT I NO LONGER OWN?
Obtain a Transfer Notation Form (VTR-346) from the Texas Department of Transportation web site to fill out and mail to the address on the form. This will relieve you of responsibility for the vehicle and flag the official record for the vehicle with the remark vehicle transferred.
HOW DO I REGISTER A VEHICLE THAT BELONGS TO SOMEONE ELSE?
You will need the following:
HOW LONG DOES IT TAKE FOR AN ADDRESS CHANGE TO BE PROCESSED?
Address changes are done through the Texas Online and will normally appear within 48 hours.
WHERE DO I REGISTER NOW THAT I NO LONGER LIVE IN WALLER COUNTY?
You must register at the County Tax Assessor-Collector's Office where you now reside.
HOW MUCH DOES IT COST TO TRANSFER A TITLE?
All transfers are different, please bring all paper work into our office for a complete fees.
Mail all of these or bring them to one of our tax office locations and we will help you.
CAN I GIVE MY VEHICLE TO SOMEONE?
Yes you may give your vehicle to a parent/step parent, grandchild, guardian, child/step child, sibling, grandparent, or a decedents's estate.
You will need the title, 130U and the Affidavit of Motor Vehicle Gift Transfer form.
You will have a $10.00 gift tax, a $33.00 title fee, and a registration fee if needed or a $2.50 transfer fee.
WHAT IS THE E-MAIL ADDRESS FOR ANY MOTOR VEHICLE TITLE QUESTIONS NOT COVERED ABOVE?
Information on fees throughout the web site is presented in good faith and as a service to our visitors. Please note that fees may change periodically and may go into effect before we can update them on the web site. View fees here.
To renew you your farm plates or to registration with farm plates you must have an ag/timber registration number. For more information on the ag/timber number, please go here
Ag/Timber Exemption Forms
Starting JUNE 1, 2017 all homemade/shopmade trailers without the vehicle identification number (VIN); must have a number assigned to it before the Waller County Tax Office will register or title the trailer.
The first step is to have the trailer inspected by law enforcement (normally an auto theft unit) and they will complete an application for Assigned or Reassigned VIN, (Form VTR 68-A).
Once you have the inspection by law enforcement you will submit the following documents to the Regional Service Center to apply for a VIN number.
1. A photograph of the trailer
2. Application for Assigned or Reassigned VIN (68-A)
3. Trailer Verification Statement Of Fact (141)
4. Weight Certificate (Waller Rice Drier 2703 Washington Waller TX 77484 936-372-3624)
5. Inspection for trailers of gross weight of 4500LBS or more
6. $2.00 Fee
If approved the Regional Office will return all your documents along with a Notice of Assigned Number or Installation of Reassigned Vehicle Identification number. (VTR -68-N). This form will have a trailer number that you would have die stamped or welded to the trailer frame.
Once you have done all the above you will go to your local County Tax Office and apply for the title or registration.
Police Agencies Completing Inspections:
Waller County Sherriff's Office - (979) 826-8282 ask for Detective Byron Fausset
Procedures for VTR-68a Inspections.pdf
HOUSTON REGIONAL SERVIE CENTER
2110 E GOVERNOR'S CIRCLE
HOUSTON TX 77092
Beginning March 1, 2016, Texas registered vehicles will need to pass inspection no earlier than 90 days before the registration expiration in order to successfully renew their vehicle registration whether in person, online, or via mail. Texas registered vehicles will no longer be issued an inspection sticker at the time of inspection. The registration sticker will serve as combined proof of inspection and registration. Once your vehicle is inspected, you will receive a Vehicle Inspection Report (VIR) instead of a vehicle inspection sticker. The inspection station will still collect a fee for inspecting the vehicle and the state's portion of the inspection will be collected at the time the vehicle registration is renewed at the Tax Office.
A calendar is available that will help precisely indicate the earliest date that the motorists may get their vehicle inspected to comply with the new law. This is a helpful resource for citizens to determine the 90 day window for their inspection.
2016 inspection calendar
2017 inspection calendar
Commissioner Pct 1
John A. Amsler
Commissioner Pct 2
Walter E. Smith
Commissioner Pct 3
Kendric D. Jones
Commissioner Pct 4
Constable, Pct. 1
Constable, Pct 2
Constable, Pct 3
Constable, Pct 4
Copyright © Waller County Texas 2017. All rights reserved.
powered by ezTaskTitanium TM