TEXAS DEPARTMENT OF PUBLIC SAFET

5805 N LAMAR BLVD • BOX 4087 • AUSTIN, TEXAS 78773-0001 512/424-2000

www.dps.texas.gov



COMMISSION STEVEN P. MACH, CHAIRMAN MANNY FLORES A. CYNTHIA LEON JASON K. PULLIAM RANDY WATSON



March 29, 2019

The Honorable Carbett J. Duhon, III Waller County Judge Waller County Courthouse 836 Austin Street, Ste. 203 Hempstead, TX 77445

Dear Judge Duhon:

We have received notice from the U.S. Secretary of Agriculture that your county has been designated eligible to apply for low-interest emergency disaster loans due to excessive moisture and flooding.

The Secretary has notified the Administrator of the Farm Service Agency (FSA) to immediately make emergency loans available to eligible applicants in your county. Your local FSA office will have the details on this program.

I have enclosed a copy of the information provided by the USDA. If you have any questions, please call Joshua Bryant at (512) 490-3746.

Sincerely,

W. Nim Kidd, MPA, CEM

Chief – Texas Division of Emergency Management

Vice Chancellor for Disaster and Emergency Services

Texas A&M University System

WNK:ks ENCLOSURES

UNITED STATES DEPARTMENT OF AGRICULTURE

Farm Service Agency Texas State FSA Office 2405 Texas Avenue South College Station, TX 77840 **TX NOTICE FLP-1202**

3-FLP (Rev. 2)

FOR: County Offices

Secretarial Disaster Declaration S4476				
Approved by:	State Executive Director	\	Sy	
1 Overview		0		

A Background

On March 11, 2019, the Secretary of Agriculture designated 13 Texas counties as primary natural disaster areas. This action is based on damages and losses caused by excessive moisture and flooding occurring September 3, 2018 through January 28, 2019. The primary counties are:

Anderson	Austin	Brazos	Burleson	Grimes	Haskell	Houston
Leon	Madison	Sutton	Walker	Washington	Young	

In addition to the above counties, 33 other Texas counties are named as contiguous where eligible family farmers may qualify for FSA EM loan assistance, pursuant to section 321 (a) of the Consolidated Farm and Rural Development Act. Those counties are:

Angelina	Archer	Baylor	Cherokee	Colorado	Crockett	Edwards
Fayette	Fort Bend	Freestone	Henderson	Jack	Jones	Kimble
King	Knox	Lee	Limestone	Menard	Milam	Montgomery
Palo Pinto	Robertson	San Jacinto	Schleicher	Shackelford	Stephens	Stonewall
Throckmort	on Trinity	Val Verde	Waller	Wharton		

This designation makes farm operators in both primary and contiguous counties eligible to be considered for low-interest emergency loans from the Farm Service Agency (FSA), provided eligibility requirements are met. FSA will consider each loan application on its own merits, taking into account the extent of losses, security available, and repayment ability.

B Application Deadline

EM Loan applications will be received through November 12, 2019 for production and physical

Disposal Dat	e	Distribution (6-RMH/03/2	7/2019)
	March 31, 2020	County (Offices
02/25/2010		(DMIT	n 1

03/27/2019 6-RMH Page 1

TX Notice FLP-1202

losses.

2 Action

A Exceptions for Application Deadlines

County Offices shall thoroughly review Exhibit 1.

B Determining Security Values

For the purpose of determining loan security values for loan applications, the beginning date of the incidence period is **September 3, 2018.**

C District Director's and Farm Loan Manager's Responsibilities

District Directors and Farm Loan Managers shall follow instructions according to 3-FLP (Rev. 2), and FmHA Instruction 1945-A for emergency loan applicability.

The Farm Loan Manager shall notify borrowers of Disaster Set-Aside (DSA) availability in accordance with handbook 5-FLP paragraph 42.

D Public Announcements

Special emphasis will be placed on informing the farm community through public announcements and arranging and conducting meetings with local Agricultural lenders and leaders.

3 Contact Point

A Inquires

If there are questions concerning this notice, contact the Conservation or Farm Loan Program Division.

Subject: Secretarial Disaster Declaration S4476

Please carefully review the notice listing the primary and contiguous counties determined eligible by the Secretary and the Emergency Preparedness and Programs Branch for emergency (EM) loans effective March 11, 2019.

This declaration is coded S4476, and EM loan applications will be received through November 12, 2019. For the purpose of determining loan security values for loan applications, the beginning date of the incidence period is September 3, 2018.

Please proceed to take the appropriate notification and coordination actions required by Handbook 1-DIS and 7CFR part 759.